Invention & Alchemy is no longer available for streaming

Thank you so much for your support 

We are eternally grateful to the American Federation of Musicians for lifting streaming restrictions on this concert video for 45 days in 2020 to uplift and inspire audiences around the world during the Covid-19 Pandemic ~ and as a fundraiser for the Grand Rapids Symphony.

Because of this, thousands of people were able to watch this award-winning concert, and thousands of dollars were raised for the symphony – and matched by generous donors, including a triple match for first-time donors.

THANK YOU so much for all your support, encouragement, beautiful comments and enthusiasm for this unusual work of art during the brief streaming window in 2020. 

You can still watch behind-the-scenes videos from the project – just scroll down on the show-page. You can also see chamber ensemble ‘maquette’ concert rehearsals from this project; Maquette #1, Maquette #2 – 1st half, Maquette #2 -2nd Half  and Deborah Henson-Conant’s TEDx talk – and you can join the mailing lists for Deborah Henson-Conant and the Grand Rapids Symphony. 

You can still donate to the Grand Rapids Symphony and the MP3s CDs, & DVDs are still available at the giving levels in the donation form. For additional videos, please see the “Videos” page of Deborah Henson-Conant’s site. 

You are Invited to the GRAMMY-Nominated Musical Experience with

Deborah Henson-Conant, David Lockington and The Grand Rapids Symphony

‘Invention & Alchemy’

STREAMING ENDS AUG. 23!

Sat. Aug. 22  ~  LIVE “Meet the Composer” Viewing Parties

(#1: 5am EST)  Sydney 7pm ~ Hong Kong 5pm
(#2: 9am EST)  Hong Kong 9pm ~ London 2pm 
(#3: 3pm EST) London 8pm ~  NYC 3pm ~ Los Angeles 12 Noon
(#4: 8pm EST)  NYC 8pm ~ Chicago 7pm ~ Los Angeles 5pm


“It’s like you invented a new genre: Orchestral Comedic Theater! ” Ben Cohen

“Invention & Alchemy” is an original Grammy-Nominated one-woman show … with a cast of 80. The star is a harp-playing  singer and storyteller who dresses like a rock star, belts out songs like a gospel singer (with an hint of Irish lilt) and tells stories with the ease of a stand-up comedian. Add the 80 members of a symphony orchestra who pull on lab coats for a musical science experiment and morph into the Arabian nights — and you have a hint of what the show is like.   

There are 4 FREE Interactive Viewing Parties Sat. Aug. 22 and the composer & star of the show will be hosting all of them LIVE – with a pre-show welcome and post-show “AMA” (Ask Me Anything) in Zoom. RSVP to attend any of them or choose to stream it on own time – any time until Midnight Aug. 23 when streaming access ends.  RSVP at the button above.

Don’t Miss it! Ends Aug. 23
Special Viewing Parties Sat. Aug. 22

“The variety, the stories, the character …just magic!!!” Laurie Grant    “It blew me away! I loved it!” Carol Henley  MAGICAL is the perfect word!” Mike Marchesi

“You not only broke the stereotype of the harp, but featured so many orchestra members…Just incredible.” – Sally Walstrum

{

reshaping the serenely Olympian harp into a jazz instrument …

— New York Times

ALL ACCESS ENDS at Midnight AUG. 23rd

‘Invention & Alchemy’

24/7 Access
Streaming On-Demand
Aug. 17-23

Includes All Behind the Scenes Content

LIVE “Meet the Composer”

Saturday, August 22

4 Live Events with before and after parties!

{

Dazzling harp playing, gorgeous jazz/pop singing, comic timing and impressive songwriting… Orchestrations as fresh and exuberant as her stage personality.

— Jerry Young, Austin-American Statesman

Three Ways to Help Us Make this a Smashing Success!

02

Support the Musicians of the Grand Rapids Symphony during this unique time

Donations will be matched dollar for dollar. Click to see the thank you gifts:  Donate Now »

03

Help us Spread the Word!!!

Email a friend | Share on facebook | Tweet

BECOME A SPONSOR

We still have several sponsorship opportunities available! Showcase your brand to a crowd of people who love music.

This award-winning project was made possible by Peter Wege
through the power of philanthropy and love.

Copyright Hip Harp 2020
Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!